16
Oct
09

Canon swapped my 7D!!

I was invited yesterday to the dealer’s shop in Eindhoven (the Netherlands) where i could swap my Canon 7D body for a new one! My week-long discussion with both the dealer and Canon have been fruitful, eventually. 

After providing the visual proof, that my camera performed poorly compared to other 7D’s, the problem was confirmed and a swap granted.

And….  

Same firmware i must say, but the noise and pattern-noise at low ISO problem is solved in this model. 
This confirms my earlier suspicion that it is a quality-check/in-factory calibration issue, that’s not going to be solved by a firmware update. My final conclusion is: faulty calibration of the green-channel in some cameras, as well as misconfiguration of  the Highlight Priority mechanism results in pattern noise at all ISOs, but more obvious in low-noise pictures. Solution: try to swap your camera for another one (test in store please) and/or switch off the Highlight Priority function. I have opted for the first solution.

Now that’s all cleared, i am anxiously waiting for the firmware update that, as promissed to me by Canon via email, addresses the remaining problem of frame stutter if bright patches appear in the picture. The new body still exposes this problem from time to time. I solve this now by repairing the frames in FCP with Joe’s filters.

End good all good! (?) Let’s wait for the last part (firmware) but i am a much happier and confident man already.. 😉

Special thanks to City Foto Eindhoven for taking the complaint serious, and for all their trouble! 

 

Martin Beek


8 Responses to “Canon swapped my 7D!!”


  1. October 16, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Do you have some samples showing before / after your swap?

    I’m curious what level of pattern noise is normal in a “good” 7D to compare mine against.

  2. October 17, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I am only assuming that you are shooting exclusively in 25p? Have you had similar issues arise when shooting in different frame rates other than 25p? My 7D so far has not shown any abnormalities while shooting in 60p, or 30p. I haven’t had the chance to shoot in 24p, or 25p as of yet, so I don’t know if there are any problems with those frame rates.

  3. October 18, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I would also like to see some RAW files (I’d prefer ISO 100 and 1600) you have shot with the new body. I’ve already decided to buy a 7D but I’m still hesitating whether I should wait a bit longer to see these problems resolved.

  4. 4 Ulisse
    October 18, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    Hello Martin,

    I had a big problem too with my 7D, in PAL mode at 24 25 50p video stutter occur, in NTSC at 30 60p all fine and fluid.
    Fortunately here in Germany we have 30 days for send back to delear, have you encoured also in this problem?
    Wich mattebox you use?

    THX in advance
    Ulisse

  5. 5 Vertomaa
    June 3, 2010 at 10:50 am

    I have that problem too.
    All editing have to be gentle or noise pattern will come on sight.
    It’s very annoying.

    Here is exsample: http://vertomaa.kuvat.fi/kuvat/Password%20protected%20folders/Example/IMG_0947.jpg

    (Blue luminance -79)

    Is this normal or do i have to change camera?

  6. 6 marvelsfilm
    June 9, 2010 at 9:39 am

    The problem is using the Highlight Priority setting. Switch it off. Further, the camera produces compression artifacts (micro blocking) in areas that are not entirely black (shadows, grays) AND thus in skin that is under exposed (shadowy areas).

    It’s the main reason why i’ve stopped using this camera and switched back to shooting EX1 & Redrock Encore DOF adapter.

    I don’t like the Bayer filter, i don’t like the crappy downscaling with moire, i don’t like the compression artifacts, i don’t like the picture. I HATE it’s lack of controls, clumsy build and it has nothing to do with a film camera, or filming in that respect.
    It’s a hype and i don’t lik it. I’ve got mine here on the shelf gathering dust. It’s something it seems to be good at.

    I am still waiting for the Scarlet (another hype…); still looks clumsy but seems to have much better control and specs.

    But, hey, i know – it’s under 2k and delivers HD; i understand why people love it.

    Martin

  7. June 14, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Damn, i have it off.
    Just have to wait and see, will they do enything to it in new firmware.
    I dont think so.. I hope that 1.2.1 isn’t last one.

  8. 8 snapper
    August 1, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Hey, I want to thank for having one of the most interesting sites in the world about the T2i/7d. Guess I gotta ask you a question!

    Basically, ummm….my video footage is horrible. I use a superflat picture style, and while this makes objects look slightly prettier, it doesn’t get rid of the noise/gamma squares one bit, seemingly caused by the camera/codec/whatever. This following png. 100% crop of a video still shows the problems I have at ISO 100, and I see variations of this exact problem even in my brightest of videos (especially in the shadows, blacks, blues.)

    http://i887.photobucket.com/albums/ac77/buttercupblessing/Untitled123.png?t=1280663203

    As seen, the gamma squares are pretty horrible, and lord mercy if I raise the gamma any just to see the extent of it. I’m not sure if this is normal, and admittingly my footage usually looks good if the area is so bright that it blinds my eyes on set, but you know, those details do show up in the dark colors (and even in the tans, browns, and tan-whites) and just overall degrades my ‘on-the-go’ footage 99% of the time.

    But that’s not really the extent of it, I also have to say that while I virtually seem to have very little noise at ISO 100-200, 400 destroys the footage and it makes things very bad overall, wether there’s noise on the blacks, or if the non-noise areas are just low-quality. It just tends to look bad, and doesn’t get better =/. Could there be any issues, or do you think my solution may just be to use that good ol Cine-gamma preset yall made? =]

    Thanks for your time!!


Leave a comment


Blog Stats

  • 1,916,990 hits

Ad