12
Oct
09

Example still of Canon 7D pattern noise in my videos

Canon 7D, 1080p video, 200 asa, 1/50th.
Carzy pattern noise  in (flat / unsharp) skin colors. Better put: almost EXCLUSIVELY in skin colors. Does the 7D process skin colors in some way?
200 / 250 / 320 asa no difference.

In a moving picture, the vertical blocky lines are very visible and become part of eg. an actor’s face, like lines are drawn on the face.
I have been told that this artifact varies from body to body… All very confusing.

Click on image to see full-size picture.

MVI_0176bad

Enlarged cut-out:

MVI_0176bad_co


6 Responses to “Example still of Canon 7D pattern noise in my videos”


  1. 1 Ivan
    March 28, 2010 at 12:21 am

    Hi.
    I have the same issue.
    What I can do?

  2. 2 marvelsfilm
    April 1, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Switch off High Light Priority and put contrast all the way down in the picture style…

    Martin

  3. April 21, 2010 at 5:25 am

    I just discovered that my 7D also has the same noise “issue”. I don’t know if my Costco is going to help me in getting a replacement (good test for customer support by the company), but it is truly amazing that Cannon would release such a junk to the market. It seems to me that Japanese companies are getting lazy and arrogant, and are losing their reputation for high quality vendors. Toyota, Cannon … who else?

    As much as I begin to appreciate the features, and the flexibility of this camera, I could never get the pictures to look sharp. Now I know why. My old Canon XTi takes MUCH better pictures than this unit. Thanks for the article. Tomorrow, I am calling both Costco and Cannon to get some satisfaction.

  4. 4 Shyam Prasanth
    August 8, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Hi, I too have the same problem with my 7D, I live in India, I picked up this camera, with the amount I had saved for the last few years, now I can’t even use the camera to take pictures at home, forget about venturing out into the field. I feel so helpless, I thought the 1.2.2 firmware update would help me fix this, but no avail, its still the same, please help me.

  5. 5 pranab
    December 3, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    i am from Nepal i bought 2 7ds, i am still confused i can see some grains even in 400 iso and sometimes i don’t see grains in higher iso. how can we fix this noise problem. can firmware update helps

  6. 6 marvelsfilm
    December 5, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Hello.

    It’s not easy to answer that; depends on so many factors unknown to me😉
    The camera will produce noise at 400 ISO, no question about that, but also will any other camera including the Red One…
    Noise will be less noticeable in bright pictures and shows up more prominently in darker (gray) areas. Underexposure will absolutely bring up more noise, as does brightening up the picture in post.

    Exposure is everything..!

    There is a setting in the camera that’s called “High ISO Noise Reduction”. It is also active at low ISO’s and it’s effect is pretty noticeable. I have put it under a quick menu, so that i can control it the higher the ISO gets. It will blur the picture, so you may consider using a (better) noise reduction in post.
    I switch it to “off” below 400, put it on “low” from 400 and on high for any iso above 1000.

    Cheers,

    Martin.


Leave a Reply

twitter.com/martinbeek

Blog Stats

  • 1,727,292 hits

Ad


